Running Time

Got my orthodocs. Got new running shoes. Now I am starting to jog.

Slowly. Very slowly. Lol.

Two days ago I jogged snail speed for 5 minutes then had to walk for about 7 minutes. Then did 4 minutes, walked, 3 minutes, then I was done. That was all I had in me.

My mantra: “You have to start somewhere, Alicia.”

It’s a little pathetic, but that really is the truth, you have to start somewhere. I remember in high school working so hard to run a mile during P.E. It took more than a month to get there, I think. Then I ran cross country a year later.

In college I was out of shape a little after two years of not running. Then I got depressed, lost some weight, ended up deciding to train for a half marathon to get me motivated and give me something to work towards. It turned out to be a lot of fun and I got into the best shape I have ever been in.

That was over 6 years ago though and I have gained probably 60 pounds since then.

So we’re starting slow again.

My dream at the moment is two parts: to run a half marathon and to run a Ragnar with my family maybe next summer. They just ran a Ragnar in Park City. Running through the mountains and hills is so beautiful and I really think it would do something for me.

But I’m going to start slow…really slow. Here goes!

Today I ran 10 minutes straight. That’s improvement…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

