This morning I was driving my sister to the airport bright and early. The sun had just started it’s climb across the sky and the horizon was starting to turn pink. I had opted for a mo-tab (mormon tabernacle choir in mormon lingo) CD instead of the rock that was in the car since I’m pretty sure my sister had WAY too much rock during our sightseeing yesterday. I don’t say this often (lately) about molly Mormon things like choosing mo-tab music for a Sunday drive, but BEST DECISION EVER! The American folk song “Shenandoah” came on.

Instantly I was back to the winter of 2005, sitting in a plastic chair at All State Choir. I could remember the details of how it felt to sing that beautiful song–the tingle on my neck as the choir harmonized, the hairs that stood on end as the ginger-haired bass next to me hit the lowest notes with elegance.

It was such a moment of serenity in my day.

Then I drove around the corner after dropping my sister off and the Washington Monument stood there, lit up, just the other side of a still-moonlit lake. A crescent moon lay just above the Jefferson monument. All surrounded by green trees and lush grass. I was worried my son would wake up and Ricardo wouldn’t, so I pressed for home, but I kind of wish I would have just pulled over to let the beauty sink in. So much beauty. So much peace.

It got me thinking about some of the people, places, and things in my life that have truly been moments to remember. The vibrations of a choir singing Shenandoah at All State Choir. Rain in Monaco. Everything about the Eiffel Tower. The River Rhine and the Bavarian Alps. The reservoir surrounded by mountains just outside of my hometown. The million-and-one picture perfect views in Yellowstone. Nearly being kissed under a bridge on the Seine river and being kissed instead on the lower peak of a heart shaped mountain. Falling in love for the first time. Falling in love again. Holding hands over an altar in the temple. Disneyland with family. Anywhere with family. Running in the foothills and looking out of the town/city. Holding my son for the first time. Knowing for the first time, that someone truly wanted me forever. So many wonderful moments in life from childhood to now.

Life is a beautiful thing, isn’t it? 🙂

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

