New Challenges

It’s been a crazy couple of weeks.

Ricardo’s eye turned red a few weeks ago and his vision became blurry. We weren’t too worried, but he brought it up at his yearly checkup since it hadn’t gone away. We figured it was his sinuses since he had already had problems with that the last couple years. 3 doctors visits and an MRI later and we were off to the ER on a Friday night. He spent 5 days in the hospital, had an Angiogram, and then was released Wednesday night before Thanksgiving.

He has some malformed veins in his head that are at risk for hemorrhage and are also causing cerebrospinal fluid to build up in his brain.

It looks like we are in for somewhat of a long road, with a couple scary brain surgeries.

It has been crazy.

It’s been a reminder of several things. One, is how much I love the LDS church as a support group. We have not lacked for any support during this because my ward members and friends from my ward have stepped in and helped us out in every way we needed. This service to us has been so very kind and was given so freely and graciously.

Another is how great it is to have family. Ricardo’s Mom and Sister have been a great support as well.

Finally, it has been a reminder of just how thankful I am for my beautiful little family.

Ricardo and I are in a good place in our relationship right now. I feel much better about our marriage and future now that I am starting to work through some of my struggles with the church. In some small ways it feels like we are returning back to the honeymoon stage šŸ™‚ I like it.

These last two weeks I have been reminded that the beautiful life we have is a fragile thing. I want to live it and enjoy it. I am hoping that this is just another bump in the road for Ricardo and I, and that it too will soon just be a part of our shared history together, another challenge that brought us closer together.

Life is truly a beautiful thing. It can be very difficult, and many people know that even better than I do, but it is often very beautiful. I want to appreciate that, breath it, savor it. I want to take more time to enjoy the little moments each day. When my son is sitting half naked in a cardboard box he climbed in, making silly sounds, trying to get me to laugh. The moments where my husband calls me to him because he just wants me to hug him. The feel of the sun peeking through the blinds and peering through the trees, still bright and warm enough to affect me, sitting on my living room floor, watching my child. The sound of a kind voice, the feel of a kind touch.

It has been crazy, and it’s going to stay crazy for a little while probably, but now is a good time for me to practice being grateful and appreciating the things I have.Ā  These last couple weeks I have been realizing that life is precious, and I want to appreciate it, and not take it for granted. I have a good life šŸ™‚

This entry was posted in My Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Challenges

  1. Jennifer says:

    This is lovely. I too believe life is hard but beautiful. Our love and prayers are with you all.

Leave a Reply

