Happy Days

I know I come across on here as pretty despondent sometimes, but I have a good life and I am a happy person. I was just laughing while I was reading about a time when I was a senior in high school and I got detention. It was at lunch and I went in to my physics teacher. When I sat down he asked how I was and I told him I was fine, but that he was the first teacher to ever give me detention. I forget what he said about that, but he mentioned that he was annoyed with some freshman in his class, “but he kept his cool.” I told him, “you always keep your cool, just once it would be funny to see you loose your cool.” He thought about that for a minute and asked if I wanted to be the one he lost his cool with. That sounded pretty entertaining so we started plotting for a little performance our next class. It worked out so well because everyone saw me as the good, quiet kid. So then when I started arguing with him during class, telling him he couldn’t give us more homework and then standing up and yelling at him, everyone was dumbfounded. By the time he told me to sit back down and I refused, I think everyone was just starting, wide-mouthed. Then he threw a book at the wall and yelled, “Alicia, get out of my classroom.” I don’t think anyone knew we were joking until we started laughing when I was half-way out the door. Good memories 🙂 I have always liked catching people off guard like that 🙂

I miss some things about being a kid. I really don’t miss middle school at all–that emotional mess is one period I’m glad to have over, but I do miss high school and college. Certainly, I miss my TBM (true believing Mormon) days a lot. But you know, I always dreamed of being married and having kids and I can honestly say that I am really happy where I am at in life. Marriage and motherhood has brought me the greatest joy so far in life, even if it has had it’s hard days. I was telling Ricardo last night as we were falling asleep that, even if I sometimes thought about the “what if’s”, that I was just incredibly grateful to have him because he has really, truly loved me for who I am. And that kind of love is something to be grateful for. I try to keep that in mind while I am sorting my religious life out.

This entry was posted in My Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

