God is ______ (fill in the blank).

So, I really enjoy when the sister missionaries come over. I’m not sure if they feel the same about our visits–I am probably the most frustrating member-investigator they visit–but I think they still enjoy me 🙂 I enjoy them so much because they always tell me to be honest with them about what I am thinking and feeling and it is refreshing to be able to express my concerns and questions to them. They are great listeners and very warm and open in sharing their own thoughts and feelings.

We watched this: http://www.lds.org/pages/mormon-messages#earthly-father-heavenly-father, and then we had a really great discussion about God. They shared some of their experiences with God/ Heavenly Father and I shared some of mine, and then I talked to them about some of the logic behind the idea that there maybe isn’t a God.

That inspired me to go ahead and start this same conversation about God on my blog. I’m going to post some of the experiences I have had that have previously caused me to have strong convictions that there is a God. I will use my journal as much as possible so that you can see how I actually experienced these things at the time (I’m very glad I wrote some of these experiences down). It will be a very personal glimpse into a very personal part of my life, but I think it will be good for me to remember these things and I hope sharing these things is good for someone else out there reading too. I’ll follow this up with different ideas from Hitchens and other Atheist writers as well as writers from the believing side of the isle. I am taking recommendations of what to read (thanks for the recommendations I already have).

This entry was posted in Current Thoughts and Struggles, My Faith Crisis and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

