My Bias

Ever since studying Psychology at BYU, it drives me a little crazy when someone says they are “unbiased”. Everyone has their biases. No researcher really starts a project without hopes or expectations about the outcome. I learned that it is better to reveal your bias, and be clear about it, than pretend I’m not biased. So here it goes.

I’m a Mormon. I’m a very confused Mormon, but I’m a Mormon. If I can, in any way, make these confusing issues less confusing enough so that I can believe, at some level, I will. I want to look at the facts. I want to consider my experiences as well. I’ve lived a life, why ignore what has happened to me? Why ignore what has happened to others? But at the same time, I know that people all over the world, in every country and religion, have had spiritual experiences too, and lots of them think they have the truth too. Basically, I want to consider all the information and then believe if there is still room to believe. I’m not unbiased, I just also can no longer ignore facts that go against what I formerly (and to some extent still) believe.

So there’s my bias.

This entry was posted in Current Thoughts and Struggles, My Faith Crisis and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Bias

  1. I can see that you still have a strong emotional attachment to Mormonism. But, as you have implied, this emotional attachment need not rule you; you can choose to abide by the evidence. This is all that objectivity consists of. Objectivity does not mean being disinterested or unemotional, but choosing to abide by the evidence.

    A question: Have you ever had your emotions about things change in response to the acceptance of new beliefs? I can tell you from experience that they can and will, if you are deeply convinced of new beliefs. Many people who hold different beliefs than you do, also have different emotional responses to things.

    Since you were a psychology major, I think you might be interested in this webpage on emotions and their function in human/animal life: Emotions at ARL.

Leave a Reply

